Tapas Turkey Day Test #1: Mini Bourbon Pecan Pie

Do you remember when I posted last year that there was a trifecta of untouchables for Thanksgiving dinner?  (No?  It’s here.)  I’m testing a new kind of Turkey Day because in September when we moved, I threw away heaps of leftover cranberry sauce.  And really, who needs to eat the rest of pumpkin pie at 8am on Friday when no one is looking?  The new house has a double oven so I thought scale down the food and experiment with new recipes.

Test #1:  Mini Bourbon Pecan Pie

I’m not a fan of pecan pie but my mother loves it.  The Food Network magazine highlights Alton Brown’s bourbon pecan pie.  Southern Indiana is very close to Kentucky so why not!

I’ve never made a pie.  There, I said it.  I’m 40 years old and I’ve never made crust as was evident in the test.  Baking scares me like being a practicing engineer scares me – exact measurements only or the end product does not turnout.  Mr. Brown’s recipe was delicious but failed in the execution in my unskilled hands.  I’m on the lookout for even smaller than 5″ tins which will be a bit more forgiving (or so my logic tells me).

I also lack patience and I think I could have cooled the crust a bit longer before filling it.  Next trial, I will make the crust on the day before and stop reading about over working dough because that clearly was not my problem.

Up next, Trial #2:  Oyster Stuffing.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tapas Turkey Day Test #1: Mini Bourbon Pecan Pie

  1. Alicia N. says:

    I’ve been baking for just over a year & love it. First rule to absorb is that pie making is nothing like engineering. It’s not as exact as you think! Relax & have fun and know, the pies will taste good (bourbon + pecan — how could it go wrong. Add some chocolate too!)
    Another tip – the smaller tins will throw off your bake times a little. Best to nail the 9″ size then work your way into smaller sizes. 🙂
    Continued good luck!

Leave a Reply

