I’m Not Dead Yet

We took my parents to see Spamalot a couple of weekends ago and it was pretty funny. But the title of this blog has nothing to do with Monty Python but rather my half marathon on Sunday.

And instead of telling you about the Boston Marathoner show-off that biked past me at Mile 8 going the opposite direction, I’d rather tell you about the other things. My swim coach used to train around “mental toughness” and I subscribe.

I arrived at the train station very early and pretty nervous that it was too smalmapmyrunl of a race for slow people (me).   I started off pretty peppy with jogging for the first 2 miles.  It was at Mile 3 when it occurred to me – I really should have trained.    My new iPhone 5 had a snazzy app that talks to me when I tick off miles and the pace.  It was perfect and I felt pretty good walking along the path with my awesome music playlist.  At Mile 8.5, my iPhone died.  Oh crap.

I kept singing Rihanna for the next mile and then, at Mile 10 – my feet HURT.  In fact, they were cursing me.

I did this before 

So I need to tell you that I did this before in 2011 when I thought I would train for the Denver Rock n’ Roll Half and then didn’t.  My friend came out from NYC to run with me and at the expo she said – you know you can walk for 3 hours right?  I said yes, I can walk for 3 hours so I did it anyway.

Pushing through to the end

At mile 10, I just kept saying – I can walk for 3 more miles.  I think the fact that the last half I did was so crowded and fun and this was pretty lonely in the back on a skinny path walking by myself.  Luckily, there was a Team in Training Coach who was encouraging a slow person who was right in front of me.  Were it not for him, I probably would have added another hour to my race.  Kudos to that program for being so supportive!

path

As soon as I finished, I met my husband, picked up my bag, slipped on my flipflops and bee-lined for my reward.

Bolder Boulder anyone?

This entry was posted in Blonde, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Not Dead Yet

  1. Marie says:

    You are awesome and you should feel really proud of yourself. I’ve never done a half marathon and I’m sure I never will!!

Leave a Reply

