Discovery Sunday: Mount Misen

Miyajima and Hiroshima did not disappoint.  They were amazing and my head is still spinning from the Hiroshima Peace Museum so while I digest the heart of the trip, I will give you my hike up Mount Misen on Miyajima Island.
1entrance
My husband and I started Discovery Sundays after we moved from New Jersey to Colorado 9 years ago.  We picked a new hike every Sunday to explore and posted the photos on Facebook.  I think as a part of my post-repatriation blog, I’ll start this back up again.

Name: Mount Misen, Momijidani Course

Elevation: 1700 vertical feet

Distance:  2.3km hike; 90 minutes up, 1 hour down

Why didn’t you take the ropeway?  It was down for maintenance

Why did you go at all?  Promise of MONKEYS at the top; I haven’t done any training for the half marathon 1 APRIL.

What they should have said:  You will be climbing 170 flights of stairs.

The hike:  Spectacular climb along side a river.  Mossy rocks, fern, deer, and the sound of water rushing.  Once the canopy opened up, I was rewarded with magnificent views of the archipelago.  NO MONKEYS.  The least crowded place I’ve been in Japan (testament to the hike difficulty).

As I was descending, I was reminiscing about my Fuji summit in 2001.  The hike up was great, but about 10 minutes into my trip down, I rolled my ankle in the loose lava rocks. Not a minute later, I totally wiped out on ice and landed on my back.

At the shrine just below the peak, there were all these little statues in nooks.

This entry was posted in Gardens, Likes, Shrines and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Discovery Sunday: Mount Misen

  1. Vividhunter says:

    Promise of monkeys at the top would keep me away… Japanese monkeys scare me ><

  2. thedrunkbirder says:

    Nice Oriental Turtle Dove.

Leave a Reply

