2 Last Weekends – Miyajima and Hong Kong

Saturday, I will take the Shinkasen to Hiroshima then a ferry to Miyajima.  You’ve seen the famous gate picture.  With just 16 days left in Japan, I was reflecting on what I might miss the most and the answer came to me today.

350px-JPN_0419

Credit: Wikipedia

WATER.

I love Denver but I grew up with the Jersey Shore and then spent 5 years in Annapolis kayaking and sailing around town.  Most people don’t think of Japan as a big island because of its densely populated cities, but there is water everywhere.  In Yokohama, I have taken the water taxi many times.  The cool(ish) breeze in the summer time was delightful.

This weekend, my hotel is on the beach overlooking the Setouchi Sea.

I decided my final weekend, next weekend, would be spent in Hong Kong.  Lonely Planet’s #1 thing to do is take a ferry from Kowloon to Hong Kong.  Sold!  It is 70F there right now so it will be nice taking a boat ride.

Have you been?  Do you have suggested places to visit for a very short trip to Hong Kong?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2 Last Weekends – Miyajima and Hong Kong

  1. Angela Duncan says:

    I was there for a quick 2 day trip. We went to the Po Lin Monastary to see the Tian Tan Buddha. It was cool to get out of the rush of the city. Kowloon is very cool – the ferry ride is worth the trip alone. I’ve heard the Peak Tram is cool – but we didn’t make it there. They have great markets and great neighborhoods to wander around in on both the Hong Kong and Kowloon sides. I LOVED Hong Kong. I was there on a layover to Thailand but I would definitley go back. It’s like a Chinese New York….love it! Enjoy your last couple weekends over there. Looking forward to seeing you soon!

  2. meagan8477 says:

    I went to Hiroshima and Miyajima in January and I’m in Hong Kong now. Great minds think alike! Really loved Miyajima. Have you been before? It’s great!

    The weather in Hong Kong has been really nice. We brought light sweaters with us and haven’t needed them yet. Such a nice break from the cold in Korea. We went to see the Big Buddha yesterday and the line for tickets for the cable car was RIDICULOUS! Like a multiple hour wait just to buy tickets, then you still have to queue for the cable car. I read that you should buy tickets online ahead of time (http://www.np360.com.hk/en/booking/np360-tickets-buy.html), but it wasn’t working for us. Maybe it’ll be back online before you head out. Otherwise, the site says you can buy tickets at some of the MTR stations.

    We also went up to The Peak (there’s a photo of that on my blog). We took a taxi from our hotel in Wan Chai – it was somewhere around $60-80HK each way. I’m sure the tram is fun to ride, but if you’re short on time, a taxi may be a better option.

    Have a great time! Looking forward to reading about it.

  3. I’ve been to Hong Kong twice and I absolutely loved it. Traveling on the harbor in Hong Kong is awesome especially at night. The views and the lights are just magnificent! Also for me, The Peak is a must see- I suggest you go there at night time as well. You could also try Hong Kong’s Xiao Long Bao a.k.a soup dumplings in North America, it’s out of this world delicious!!! 🙂

  4. Oh and Miyajima is just beautiful!!! Now, I’m jealous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

