Japanese Flowers – Winter Wonder Week

The winter flower of NJ is snow.  Japan, however, has camellias, narcissus, plum blossoms and pine.  I bought a great book, A Flower Lover’s Guide To Tokyo, 40 Walks for All Seasons” by Sumiko Enbutsu, as I had planned to photograph as many gardens in Japan as I could.  There are 15 flowers highlighted in the book as the most influential in Japanese culture [photos from this summer]:

Cherry Blossom
Azalea
Tree Peony
Wisteria
Iris

P1030962

Lily

lily
Lotus

Lotus2
Morning Glory

morningglory
Bush Clover
Chrysanthemum
Maple

falls

Pine

P1040244

Since this weekend is the plum blossom festival kickoff (and I will be in Sapporo), I will dedicate this week’s post to the winter flowers of Japan.

Today’s feature: Camellia

There seem to be shrub versions and tree versions of this beautiful flower around Tokyo.

Camellia

 

camilla2
treecamellia

birdandcamellia

This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Japanese Flowers – Winter Wonder Week

  1. How absolutely gorgeous are these shots. I love love love flowers…and even studied botany in HS for the love of it. Such a beautiful post!

    • Colleen says:

      Thank you! Japan is amazing for gardens and flowers. In fact, the garden I went to last weekend, I was thinking eh, it won’t be that great as it’s not spring yet but they have the bones of a good garden down before they add the flowers.
      I often think about taking a landscape architecture class.

  2. Mi Hui says:

    What type of lily is the purple one pictured above? Is there a specific name? My Co-worker loves that and I was thinking about ordering some. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

