Widdling Down the Pot of Gold

potofgold

I’ve posted already that I’m not really a cash person.  To add to that, I hate change.  On an average day, my wallet weighs about 5 lbs.  In the US, we let change accumulate, put it in a machine and use that money for eating out.  I have not found such a machine in Japan and money exchange places do not take change.

It is going to be a challenge in the next 4 weeks for me to use the mass amounts of change that have accumulated in my large pottery bowl.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Widdling Down the Pot of Gold

  1. I made the mistake of taking our change bowl contents to the bank last year….about an hour and pages of paperwork later, I had a $100USD. Never again.

  2. Colleen says:

    I didn’t get a local bank so it’s use it or lose it. I don’t know how much I have, but it sure seems like 4 weeks of lunch money, if not more. [What’s with the paperwork for money exchange, too? ]

  3. It looks like you were rich…

  4. Marie says:

    I would love your 5-yen pieces if you can bring some back for me! I’ll use them for jewelry and card making. And I’d take a couple of 1-yen coins, too, to send to a friend in England (who lived in Japan when we were there).

    • Colleen says:

      No problem. Why they have 1 yen pieces, I’ll never know. They don’t even feel like money.

      • Marie says:

        My Welsh friend (who lived and taught in Yokohama with his now-wife) used to love walking down the street and throwing one-yen pieces on the ground. Of course, this would attract attention and he would delight in seeing the Japanese (so honest) jumping down to the ground to retrieve them for him. That’s why I’d love to send him a few tokens as a remembrance!

Leave a Reply

