The Bowels of My Japanese Apartment

My 500 sf apartment [50 sm] is in a very nice part of Yokohama. The building is modern and full of cool things worth sharing.

COOL PARTS

Key Card.  Upon arrival at the apartment, a swipe of the key card to gets you in the building.  At that time, a light appears if you have any packages. A swipe of the key card calls the elevator. Then once in the elevator, another swipe of the key card gets you to your floor and only to your floor. I don’t have any security concerns but if I did, this would definitely make me feel better.  I’m certain that after getting to the room with groceries, it was the intent to make it as easy as possible.

Card holder.  Japan is extremely efficient and green so in order for the lights to work, the key card needs to be in the holder at the front of the apartment. Some international hotels have this feature but for me, this also serves as a way never to lose my flat key.

Call button. Ok, admittedly, I have never lived in a big city so I’ve not seen a call button system before but this one is video. Of course, the first time I got a package, I accidentally hit the emergency button over and over and it had to be unlocked by a security guard.  [Future blog post on my other emergency call button issue.]

Left uncropped for a reason – the thermostat on the left is dual language but the video doorbell is not [ Hence the emergency button issue]

Shower room/Bath tub/dryer.  The bathroom took some getting used to. The door opens to mirrored space next to a tub. The shower handle is on a hook that about reaches my neck. Above the tub is a fan the strength of a full-size hair dryer which is used as a clothes dryer.  There is a custom cover for the top of the tub that would serve as a drying rack stand (if I bought a drying rack).

I really don’t want to see myself in the shower on a daily basis.

Induction stove.  I have 1 saute pan and 1 sauce pan so I shouldn’t care but induction stoves are cool.

Distance shot of the induction stove but it’s just too small to focus on, plus this is proof I actually clean.

Views of Mount Fuji.  Posted previously but waking up to see Mount Fuji is a definite cool part of my flat.

Mount Fuji from my Flat

The piece de resistance – Toilet.  This past summer, I couldn’t figure out how to change the heated seat setting which was awful but now that the weather has cooled, it’s great.

Don’t knock it until you try it.

No, I will not put a towel on the hook for someone to wash their hands on top of the toilet. Sorry.

This entry was posted in Likes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Bowels of My Japanese Apartment

  1. It’s amazing how efficient the tiny apartments in Japan are. Yours is about twice the size of the one we stayed at in Tokyo and what a great view! Neat!

    • Colleen says:

      The immediate view is the professional soccer team field where I watch them practice. It’s almost as good as Fuji! Efficiency is unbelieveable. I have a blog brewing about good ideas we should use in the US (vacant toilet lights!).

  2. Kozo says:

    I love super toilets. I had to buy one after i got back from Japan. People think I’m a freak, but if they try it, they always ask me where to get one. Have you seen “Jiro Dreams of Sushi”? You might want to go try his sushi if you make a trip to Tokyo.

  3. warero says:

    Reblogged this on Javmode.

Leave a Reply

