Be The Change

Be the change.  I whole-heartedly subscribe to those words.  They were posted on Word Press as an inspiration for NaBloPoMo – National Blog Posting Month (something I had to google).

We have options in this world on what we want to do, the paths we take, and how we deal with adversity.  Is this blog about overcoming some life-altering health crisis?  No.  Is this blog about ridding some disease in a remote area of the world?  No.  Others have that covered remarkably well.

Superficially, this blog is the self-deprecating adventure about a year in a foreign country and the blondeness encountered along the way.  It’s about showing others who cannot travel the joys and wonders of Japan, a warm and fabulous country.

Under the surface, this is a part of my life story – a woman engineer who has gone against the odds and hopes to show young girls that anything is possible. 

I also believe that I wouldn’t be here today without the help of others and I do not take that for granted.  There is a long line of people who have made a positive influence in my life including:

  • My best friend’s mom who taught me how to study
  • My 8th grade teacher who encouraged my first real risk of going to public high school
  • All of my swim coaches who recognized and developed my talent which was the basis for understanding how to create and realize goals
  • Mentors within my career who taught me life is not black and white like a stopwatch, do not listen to people who put you down, sit at the table, and many, many, other lessons
  • A friend who strong-armed me into running to help deal with my father’s brain cancer and blogging to help me with being alone
  • My parents who told me I can do anything
  • My husband, the best in the world, supporter of me and our long-term goals

I’ll never forget running into a fellow swimmer in the library in college.  She was a freshman and I stopped by just to see how she was doing.  She was upset by some things that were happening and I gave her a short pep talk.  I didn’t think much of it.  Later, I learned that she was contemplating changing colleges and I helped her.  I had no idea my impact.

I made a conscious effort to be the change – one hand forward and one hand back.

So I will continue to blog about getting lost, eating fabulous food, and meeting wonderful people in doing one of the hardest jobs I’ve ever had in hopes that someone says I won’t give up either.

Princesses are great but how about President?

This entry was posted in Blonde, Likes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

