The Cave

I promised my mother I wouldn’t blog about work and I won’t but there is a piece that is fairly essential to understand my year of living in Japan.

The Cave.

My office is a conference room on a floor of meeting rooms.  Its lovely with my own large, flat-screen tv for projecting, huge desk, a conference table and lots of storage but I am basically by myself most of the day.  Every day.  I keep the door open so when people walk by after leaving a meeting, they might say hello.  Yesterday, it worked and I got several unplanned visits.  I don’t share this to embarrass anyone or complain (I’ve done this already.)

Did I tell you I was in sales for the last 4 years?  I am a very gregarious person who loves parties, dinners, gatherings and people.

After work and being alone, I go to my apartment and have dinner by myself.  Am I whining?  No.  Today, I went to the lovely Italian place downstairs and got waves! “Hello!” “We’re glad you’re here for the gnocchi!” * It means so much to me to have a friendly face and some human interaction.  I purposely go to places to become a regular so I can get the regular treatment.

I share this because sometimes I forget that living in a foreign country by yourself is actually TOUGH.  Fabulous, yes, but not always easy.  Its been 8 weeks since I’ve been home and 3 more to go.

*Note 1: By the way, I was reading a blog about someone’s diet as I’m eating gnocchi and sopping up the sauce with bread.  So I went for a walk after lunch.  Thanks, Jason!

**Note 2: Also, said lovely Italian place is now doing gnocchi every Thursday!!!!

This entry was posted in Dislikes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Cave

  1. Marie says:

    That must be tough. I found Japan to be quite lonely at times, especially my first year living there. Part of this was because I was living with my college roommate, who went to Japan with me, and she was (1) quite conservative and didn’t share my dismay at the treatment of Japanese women, and (2) obsessed with her boyfriend in the U.S. I remember going to visit my sister in China that first Christmas and bursting into tears when I saw her. I’m sure the Internet and e-mail would have helped, but as you know we didn’t have anything like that. All I had was letters!

    It all changed when I met my future husband and moved to Osaka–then I was rarely lonely. But it definitely helps to develop a tribe of friends. Hope you are able to do that somehow!

Leave a Reply

